For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
About AIHR

Ethics Committee Faculty of Humanities

The Ethics Committee safeguards the ethical standards of all research involving human participants that is conducted at the Faculty of Humanities. It draws up guidelines for carrying out ethical research and reviews research proposals to ensure that these standards are upheld.

Before any research involving experiments and/or interviews with human test subjects commences, approval of the Ethics Committee must be obtained.

A growing number of academic journals as well as Dutch and European funding bodies now require the formal approval of an Ethics Committee before an article can be published or a subsidy granted.  

Ethics Review Procedure

The procedure for obtaining approval has changed.

As of 1 January 2019 approval of the Ethics Committee must be obtained via the new Ethics and Data Management Review (EMDR) Portal. It is no longer possible to apply for approval via the Ethics Committee secretary.

To apply for a research review, please go to and select FGW – Faculty of Humanities and login with your UvAnetID. Create a project (under My projects) and fill out the checklists and submit this alongside the Information brochure and Informed consent form.

Download standard forms for the Information brochure and Informed consent form at:

* Standard EC forms (Dutch)

* Standard EC forms (English)

Only staff members can submit a project. However, Bachelor and Master students may assist their supervisor with preparing the application as a collaborator. The responsible supervisor, not the student, should supervise and submit the EC/GDPR review application.

The Ethics Committee will convene on:

3 December 2019 (deadline for non-standard projects 25 November 2019)

Committee members

The Ethics Committee consists of a chairperson, a professor of Ethics from the Philosophy Department and various members with specific areas of expertise covering all involved disciplines. The committee secretary is provided by the Faculty Office’s Research Department.

prof. dr. J.E. (Judith) Rispens


dr. S. (Stefania) Milan

Faculty of Humanities

Capaciteitsgroep Media & Cultuur

dr. R. (Roland) Pfau

Faculty of Humanities

Capaciteitsgroep Taalwetenschap

dr. M. (Makiko) Sadakata

Faculty of Humanities

Capaciteitsgroep Muziekwetenschap

dr. J. (Josje) Verhagen

Faculty of Humanities

Capaciteitsgroep Nederlandse Taalkunde

dr. H.W.J.M. (Henri) Wijsbek

Faculty of Humanities

Capaciteitsgroep Philosophy and Public Affairs


Ethics Committee secretary - | T: 020 525 3054
Kloveniersburgwal 48 | 1012 CX Amsterdam – Bushuis | kamer F.1.11B