For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
You are using a browser that is no longer supported by Microsoft. Please upgrade your browser. The site may not present itself correctly if you continue browsing.

Every year the Faculty offers a number of Finishing Fellowships to PhD candidates who have succeeded in writing an advanced draft of their thesis without the support of structural funding. The fellowships aim to enable self-funded PhD candidates to concentrate exclusively on the completion of their thesis in their last year.

Starting in 2016, the Faculty has awarded 35 Finishing Fellowships, resulting in 23 new doctors. This year the selection committee -consisting of Kees Hengeveld, Guido Snel, and Kati Röttger - received 12 applications in total. Eight of these were awarded the Finishing Fellowship:

  • Argyrios Emmanouloudis, Is the Game Already Over? FanMade Content and Resistance in Online Video Game Communities (Supervisors: Joyce Goggin and Carrol Clarkson)
  • Barbara Cueto, White Papers on Dissent: Politics & Poetics of Decentralisation (Supervisors: Emilie Sitzia and Mia LermHayes)
  • Divya Nadkarni, The Lyric We: A Pragmatist Approach to the Politics of Poetry (Supervisors: Ellen Rutten and Josef Früchtl)
  • George Muishout, Muslims and palliative care in a Western context: a qualitative study (Supervisors: Gerard Wiegers and Hanneke van Laarhoven)
  • Karin Christof, The Longing for Autonomy: New Meanings of Ownership, Property and Citizenship (Supervisors: René Boomkens and Jan Willem Duyvendak)
  • Lora Sariaslan, Art as Maps, Maps as Art: Rethinking the Urban in European-Turkish Contemporary Art (Supervisors: Luiza Bialasiewicz and Guido Snel)
  • Maral Mohsenin, Digitizing Film Archives: Digital Image Technologies through Archival Discourses and Practices (Supervisors: Giovanna Fossati and Benoît Turquety)
  • Ricarda Franzen, Theatre Sound Cultures. Listening practices and the aesthetics of theatre sound documentation in the Netherlands in the late 1960’s/ early 1970’s (Supervisors: Kati Röttger and Viktoria Tkaczyk).